Children's Literature Comprehensive Database - October 2007

This follow-up book to One Odd Day is sure to provoke laughs and giggles. Simple rhyming text covers a boy’s day from one morning to the next. The zany fun begins when he wakes up and discovers his mom has two heads and his room has six closets and eight beds! On a school field trip the boy and his strange class go to the zoo where everything from animals to food comes in even numbers. Of special interest are the elephants that each spout water from four trunks, the snake with even numbers dressing up its skin, and the multi-colored, crazy looking Scramblesaurus that consists of “ten eyes, eight tails, six feathers, four humps, and two long fingernails.” The boy hopes to have his even day end and to get up to a world that is “right” the next day. In reality, he wakes to find that the day will be one of fractions! Creative mind end material contains a pairing activity, one dealing with square numbers, and math riddles that call for some thinking. This book is an asset to math programs and is also delightful as just a fun read. The illustrations add to the humor. Children will want to look at them time and time again.

-Nancy Attebury

Eclectic Homeschool Online-January 2012
In the book My Even Day, we continue the story started in One Odd Day. When the boy wakes up and sees his mother has 2 heads, that’s when his odd but even day starts. Breakfast seems normal with 4 flapjacks, until he notices his shoes are both on left feet. His odd but even day continues as he goes on a trip to the zoo for a school trip. The animals are not the same as usual, and it seems they have mixed up parts.

This book is a fun book about even numbers, and it will keep a child’s interest through the whole book. As in most Arbordale books, the illustrations are complete and exciting to see and explore, with little details added onto every page. It’s a great book to further teach the concept of even numbers versus odd numbers and would be a great addition to a library.
Go to review online

Heck of a Bunch Blog-February 2011
My Even Day is a fun way for children to learn about even numbers, or just numbers in general.
Go to review online

Macaroni Kid-February 2011
It's a silly little learning adventure about a boy who wakes up one morning and to start off there are only odd numbers on his alarm clock, The rest of the day is an entertaining day full of odd numbers. I liked how this book will keep a young child's interest and the illustrations by Karen Lee are also very creative.
Go to review online

Laura Williams' Musings - October 2007
My children enjoyed this book as much as One Odd Day, which is a companion book to this one.

After reading One Odd Day, we thought that this one would be the "normal" story. We were delighted to find out that this book had the same giggling and laughter effect with it's story and illustrations.

As with the companion book, this book also has a section in the back to keep your child busy with matching as well as math.

Overall, I would highly recommend this book and would say that this book and it's companion, One Odd Day, would make a great gift set for a child.

I give this book a bright line of 5 stars

-Laura Williams

 

Wee One's Children's Magazine - October 2007
Could things get any wackier? A follow up to the fun book, My Odd Day, this book is all about what happens when it's an even day. Mom has two heads! And the field trip to the zoo only makes the day weirder! Elephants with four trunks...lions with six wings... My Even Day will not only have readers in hysterics, but it will teach the important concept of even numbers. Fun activities are found at the back of the book.

-Jennifer Reed

 

Teaching Children Mathematics, National Council of Teachers of Mathematics - Dec 08/Jan 09 Issue

The authors of these engaging picture books integrate the concepts of odd and even numbers into the story of the life of a young boy who awakens to find that his world doesn't seem quite right. As the boy tumbles from his bed in One Odd Day, he fnds that his surroundings appear to be void of all even numbers. He discovers that his clock displays only odd numbers and his dog seems to have a fifth leg. The books's pages are filled with similar examles until the next day, when the boy wakes up to find that his odd-number day appears to be over, but his mother now has two heads. It is no surprise that My Even Day begins where One Odd Day ended. The story is similar to the first except that this day revolves around examples of even numberd and then concludes with the boy waking up to find that half his head has been shaved, leading the reader to believe that the next book will focus on fractions.

These books appeal to primary students and could support a classroom investigation focused on the concept of odd and even numbers within an oddly interesting context. The rhythmic text is enticing, and the vividly creative illustrations could keep students busy for hours as they search for different objects related to odd and even numbers. Each book also contains a teaching section with a variety of activities, definitions, and important teaching points. - Heidi Higgins, Missouri State University

 

School Library Journal - November 2007
In this rhyming companion to One Odd Day (Arbordale, 2006), a boy wakes up to find that everything he sees represents an even number. His room suddenly has eight beds, and his mother has two heads. The child's "even" day gets odder on a class trip to the zoo. Alligators have antlers and lions have wings, all in multiples of two. At the end of the story, things return to normal, although there is a hint of more craziness to come. The back matter includes some interesting math activities. Lee's brightly colored illustrations are fantastical and contain strange elements not related to the concepts of even and odd. For example, the bouquet on the kitchen table is made up of fried eggs on stems, and the school bus seems to ride through the ocean on the way back from the field trip. In the earlier title, the boy's day includes both odd numbers and odd events.
-Donna Cardon, Provo City Library, UT



Children's Book Reviews - December 2007

If you read One Odd Day and enjoyed it, you will also delight in this companion book, My Even Day. Authors Doris Fisher and Dani Sneed have continued showing math concepts in a wonderful, zany story. It’s zany in an irresistible imaginative way guaranteed to catch the attention of the reader who will be drawn into counting the six wings on a trio of lions or the Scramblesaurus with ten eyes! What is a Scramblesaurus? Read the book to discover it and its number of features. Like in the first book, the writing is in rhyme that flows easily, and the even numbers are in bold type for beginning readers.

Illustrator Karen Lee nicely integrates all of the numeric concepts in fanciful paintings with movement, rhythm, and humor! The activities at the back challenge children to count, multiply, and solve riddles. Children from Kindergarten to Second Grade will take to this book, not only for math, but also for beginning reading skills and enjoyment above all. Highly recommended.

-Judith Nasse

Review of Texas Books - Spring 2008

Can Odd Ever Return to Normal?

Can you imagine waking one morning, checking the time and the clock numbers are confused? How can you tell time with one, five, seven, nine, and eleven? Then the young boy tries to get dressed but finds only one sock and one shoe. Worst of all, Mom is dressed as a fireman in a tutu. Princess, the dog, dances a jig on five legs. Although the school bus used to be yellow, it is now pink polka-dotted. He hopes school will be more predictable. October is listed on the calendar as Oddtober. His teacher looks very strange and the playground is chaos. The boy’s only solution is to live through today; surely tomorrow will be better. He is sure that now is the time for a change. But check it out!

My Even Day is a rhythmic sequel to One Odd Day. The boy’s problems now extend to this mother with her two heads. He finds two shoes, but both are for the left foot. What a backpack! Ten watermelons are in his backpack, and soup drips out of a sack. Confusion reigns again. On a field trip to the zoo each elephant has four trunks, lions fly, and the juggling boa constrictor takes over for an odd day in the even day book. Will odd and even ever take the boy back to normal?

Karen Lee’s wild and wooly illustrations extend the text on every page in her use of bright stand-out colors. She says she tries to use more variety but always seems to fall back on the same old, same old colors. Whatever! The illustrations are great for both books and a sharp-eyed kid will love finding many odd things. A hallmark of Arbordale Publishers is “For Creative Minds,” three pages of interactive learning to be used by teachers and parents. Arbordale also posts Learning Links and Teaching Activities on their website: www.arbordalepublishing.com. Watch for My Half Day coming out in September 2008.

 

A Readable Feast - December 2007

My Even Day - The Arbordale Publishing followup to Doris Fisher and Dani Sneed's One Odd Day, we follow a young boy through another strange day, but now everything is even, and his mom has two heads! Your kids will enjoy looking for all the hidden objects in the book's art. And you'll learn more “number fun” in the “For Creative Minds” section. Go to the Arbordale website for the downloadable For Creative Minds (PDF), Teaching Activities, and Learning Links.

-Anne-Marie Nichols in a "Last-minute Gift Ideas for Young Children" post

Go to review online


Stories for Children Magazine - February/March 2008

This delightful book continues where "One Odd Day" left off in this sequel written and illustrated by the same award-winning team.  Our boy wakes up to discover that life is back on an "even" keel. Mom has two heads; he sees eight beds; he's served four flapjacks; he's got two left shoes; all this before he even gets to school! The class is off to the zoo for a field trip and must pair up with a buddy for the day. In their tight lyrical format, authors Doris and Dani keep the reader laughing with the outrageous text, illustrated to thigh-slapping humorous perfection by the very comical Karen Lee.  The zoo trip is a definite page-turner for the reader – you can hardly wait to see what happens next! The boy is anxious to get home and go to sleep.  What will happen to him the next day?  The end of the book leads the reader right into what will be a terrific sequel to My Even Day!

My Even Day and One Odd Day (as a combo) were one of Learning Magazine's 2008 Teachers' Choice Awards for Children's Books winners.

One of my favorite things in this book was the penguins in the illustrations. Ms. Lee had me anxious to see what the pair of penguins would do next! I was delighted by the outcome!

As with all Arbordale books, the end of this book has an educational section "For Creative Minds" that includes: "Even Numbers Have A Match"; "Zero: An Even Number?"; "Square Numbers: Odd or Even?"; "Creative Sparks (Pairs)"; and "Defenders Of The Truth: Math Riddles".

In addition, readers can find cross-curricular “Teaching Activities,” an audio reading, child-friendly “Learning Links,” and comprehension and math quizzes for free at www.arbordalepublishing.com.
-Gayle Jacobson-Huset

 

The Reading Tub - March 2008

Summary: What would you do if your mom had two heads? and you had two left shoes? How would you handle the class trip to the zoo? Such are the dilemmas our young student faces when he wakes up and realizes that everything in his day is an even number! With rhyming text and a busy day, children learn their even numbers.

Type of Reading: family reading, anytime reading, playtime reading, read aloud book, learning to read

Recommended Age: read together: 4 to 8; read yourself: 6 to 9

Age of Child: Shared with a Kindergarten class of twenty five- and six-year-olds.

Little Kid Reaction: The kids had a lot of fun with the story. They liked the silliness of it and there was plenty of laughter. We read this with One Odd Day so when we got to the end and our student sees only half his hair, they were ready to read about fractions!

Big Kid Reaction: This is a great book. Together, One Odd Day and My Even Day introduce math for the early elementary set. They succeed in getting the kids excited about math. You can't ask for more than that.

Pros: This rhyming book offers a humorous story to introduce kids to even numbers.

Cons: None.

Borrow or Buy: Buy! This is a fun book that offer a story kids want to hear again and educational content, too.

Go to complete review online